Students are expected to attend school for the entire day. Absences, according to Georgia State School Law, must be recorded as excused or unexcused.

Excursed/Legal absence:

  • Illness – [NOTE – After 3 days of illness, a medical excuse is required to return to school]
  • Death in Family
  • Religious Holiday
  • Court proceedings (foster care)
  • Hazardous Conditions/Extreme Weather Conditions
  • Service as Page in Legislature
  • Suspension from School

A student, who is absent from school for more than one-half school day (4 hours), will be considered absent.


Georgia law provides up to 5 days excused absences for students with excused absences as defined above.

Unexcused Absences


1-2 If parents have not contacted the front office, the school will notify the parents to receive an explanation for student’s absence(s).  NO WRITTEN EXCUSE NEEDED TO RETURN TO SCHOOL
3-5 Parents will be contacted to inform them of the legal consequences of continued absences from school
6-8 School will refer the case to social workers for assessment